US Open: Tennis Made in America

The United States Open Tennis Championships  is a hardcourt tennis tournament which is the modern iteration of one of the oldest tennis championships in the world, the US National Championship for which men’s singles was first contested in 1881. Since 1987, the US Open has been chronologically the fourth and final tennis major comprising the Grand Slam each year; the other three are the Australia Open, French Open and Wimbledon.

The US Open is held annually in late August and early September over a two-week period. The main tournament consists of five event championships: men’s and women’s singles, men’s and women’s doubles, and mixed doubles.

The US Open has tiebreaks in every set, including the last set. The other three Grand Slam tournaments have tiebreaks in every set other than the last set (i.e. the fifth set for men and third set for women), and therefore their last set continues indefinitely until a two-game lead is reached.

The intensity of the game at center court is always a spectacle. These clips take us back to the late 1980’s when the game was played by giants like MacEnroe, Connors, Edberg, Wilander, Evert and Navratilova.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment